5 Stars!

Lately I have been talking about books that I have been reading on the TypeHammer podcast, and one of the co-hosts, John Uhri, mentioned he reserves his 5 star ratings for only the books that meet his highest criteria. While that does make perfect, logical, crystal clear sense….at the time I never really thought about it. What books deserve my 5 Star approval? This is a whole new chapter in my literary world, one that I am stepping in very carefully. Oh, who am I kinding. I don’t do much very carefully…

I did put a little thought into what is a 5 Star book for me, and I have come down to a very simple set of checkboxes that all must be filled out. (subject to change) 

  • I did not want the book to end.
  • I have re-read, or am anxious to re-read the book.
  • I recommend the book even to people that do not enjoy the genre or subject.
  • Will talk at length about the book, even if that means loosing friends because they are tired of me talking about the book.

So here I have started to compile a living list, in no particular order. I’m sure I’ll add to it down the road, and remove as I re-read, but for now, here are my 5 Star books. (subject to change)

  • The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara
  • The Ghosts of Cannae by Robert L. O’Connell
  • The Martian by Andy Weir
  • Gates of Fire by Steven Pressfield
  • Killing Rommel by Steven Pressfield
  • Shadow Divers by Robert Kurson
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (maybe Ender’s Shadow as well? need to think on this one)
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Raby Bradbury
  • Lord Foul’s Bane by Stephen R. Donaldson I have removed this one from the list as I thought about some of the more harsh scenes I would not recommend to some readers. I think this means I need to work on my 5-star rules, but for now I’ll just put a strikethrough in.
  • Swan Song by Robert McCammon
Leave a Reply

