LinkedIn Metrics :: Engagements in the Wild

 

I have a dirty secret. I like LinkedIn. There, I said it. Reddit may mock me now. They usually do anyway; I’m old. I dig the culture of LinkedIn, the idea that a large group of people are there for one real purpose: To Make Money. There are no pictures of cats and stories about kids, unless it is a story about cat veterinary / lemonade stand. It is just people getting through their work life, looking for customers, work and workers.

I have another dirty secret. I love analytics. I can hear you now: That’s not a “dirty” secret! Well, the “dirty” part is my knowing you are reading this right now, and knowing that you will continue to do so,  thus reducing my Bounce Rate. It may be because of the pictures below or are just curious about any other dirty details I my have, but you are still engaged and that is working that magical little number that gives me a percentage of how many readers immediately leave this page. The lower the number the better. For a blog 40% is golden. 70% is the norm. I want 30%. Yes, I’m a dreamer.

So, let us combine these two dirty little secrets for some LinkedIn/Analytic fun. When you post something LinkedIn loves to show you how many people view, like and comment across both yours and your expanded networks.

 

Here is an example of fairly low-rated post on asking about LinkedIn posts. Not very interesting, but someone did in fact comment, so there is that.

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 9.42.12 AM

Here are some lovely’s: two comments I was expecting no traffic on,  Bitcoin and Solemn Oath Brewery, but the post on my story about Kickstarter died as well.

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 7.22.05 AM Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 7.21.51 AM Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 7.21.20 AM

 I don’t know why that Kickstarter story didn’t have legs. It was really very good.

Here are a some “ranting” posts, where I complain about various aspects of LinkedIn and web development in general:

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 7.20.59 AM Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 7.21.11 AM Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 7.22.27 AM

Then I have the “big dogs”, posts of mine that have the greatest reach. Again, more complaining. Two about web development and one about Illinois politics. See a pattern?

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 7.22.17 AM Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 7.21.43 AM Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 7.21.31 AM

This is certainly not the end-all/be-all of LinkedIn Analytics. I don’t have that large of a network, don’t use the LinkedIn to find workers, work or clients; but rather to keep in touch with those that I do know and help others I know that are looking for work.

I don’t know if I am different from other LinkedIn users or not, but the above data does tell me, at least for my own network:

Complaining about stupid stuff gets me the largest audience. 

One thought on “LinkedIn Metrics :: Engagements in the Wild

Leave a Reply

